Since We Fell

20170624_163357.jpgSince We Fell by Dennis Lehane follows Rachel Childs, a global journalist, who has an on-air mental breakdown. She becomes a virtual shut-in afterwards as her life falls apart.

A chance encounter with a man from her past changes everything she thought she knew. Rachel’s life slowly declines, ruining her career and marriage.

Riddled with panic attacks, Rachel is thrust into a conspiracy filled with deception and lies. She must find the strength to find truths and conquer her fears.

Who can she really trust?

My Thoughts

You may come to realize as I review more books that I absolutely love Dennis Lehane. His stories are always so captivating and well-crafted. He quickly climbed up on my list of favorite authors and many of his books make my favorites list. His writing style is somehow both gritty and beautiful. Basically, what I’m saying is I’ll buy anything he writes.

“We live in a world of disposable memory, nothing’s built to last, not even shame.”

This book was on my must read list months before it was released. I just had to go into the bookstore and pick up a copy for myself and dive in immediately. The story started off slow and built up to a more exciting ride. I’m actually glad the story started with a slow burn. This gave me plenty of time to develop feelings for the characters and a feel for the setting.

“There’s darkness in this world you can’t learn about by watching TV and reading books.”

The first half of the book is basically a build-up of Rachel’s life and her life in journalism and the downfall of her career. This first half has very little excitement, but plenty of insight on the main character. You watch as Rachel has trickles of panic attacks and mental breakdowns that eventually build up to the fallout of her career.

The second half of the book is suspenseful, exciting and much quicker paced. This half of the book takes you on a wild ride through deception, lies and dangerous situations. My favorite part of this book, by far, is the way Lehane writes. He has a way of painting a picture without getting too wordy. I love the gritty heaviness his words carry from page to page.

“Monsters don’t dress like monsters; they dress like humans. Even stranger, they rarely know they’re the monsters.”

Since We Fell definitely isn’t my favorite novel by Lehane so far, but then again how can it really stand against great novels such as Mystic River and Gone, Baby, Gone? With that said, I really enjoyed this book. It was well-written and unpredictable most of the time. I can’t go too in-depth with my review for this book, as I fear anything I say could be a spoiler.

I would highly recommend this book if you enjoy thrillers and a good character study. I haven’t been let down by Dennis Lehane yet. I doubt I will, really. If you’ve never read anything by him before, I also highly recommend reading his other works, as most of it is purely brilliant as far as suspense and mysteries are concerned. This book leaves me excited to see what Lehane has up his sleeve next.

 

Leave a Reply

