City of Bones

20170624_163755.jpgCity of Bones by Cassandra Clare follows Clary Fray as she witnesses a murder while at a nightclub. A murder only she seems to see. Clary gets more tangled into the case of the tattooed people and the disappearing body, trying to grasp some reality.

As she gets thrust into the world of shadowhunters and dangerous demons, she is left with more questions about her mother and her own role in this strange new discovery. As things begin to unravel, Clary finds her life constantly at risk of being torn apart by monsters and even vampires.

Can she find answers to her growing questions? Why can she see shadowhunters while nobody else can? Who are these shadowhunters and what do they have to do with her?

My Thoughts

I know, I know, I’m way behind on the hype of the shadowhunter world. I have to be completely honest though, I didn’t choose this book myself. My girlfriend has a deep love for this (and all the other) series and I probably wouldn’t have picked this book up on my own. Especially with the cover being of a shirtless man with tattoos. I’m sure I wasn’t the intended audience.

But I have to say, I really enjoyed this first book. I did happen to see the movie before reading this, so I knew the basic premise of the story and some of the plot going in. But I’m glad there was so much more to the story than the movie showed. I was excited that the book was filled with sarcasm and fighting sequences, two things I love in my books.

“Sarcasm is the last refuge of the imaginatively bankrupt.”

I enjoyed that this was an urban fantasy with all sorts of creatures, from vampires and werewolves, to warlocks and demons. You name it, this book seemed to have it. Except mummies, of course. Nobody believes in mummies, obviously.

The story’s setting in New York City is interesting, especially since it keeps Clary rooted in the real world, while talking to shadowhunters who could choose not to be seen. It could really add a funny element when she has an argument with thin air in the busy New York streets.

“The meek may inherit the earth, but at the moment it belongs to the conceited. Like me.”

My favorite character in this book was definitely Simon. I really liked his sarcasm and snarky comments. I wasn’t the biggest Jace fan, but maybe that’s because I’m just not that into him. Maybe I’ll grow to like him more in the later books. My feelings toward Isabelle and Alec at this point aren’t particularly strong one way or the other. Clary on the other hand is more of a neutral character for me. I dislike the way she acts sometimes, like when she completely forgets about Simon, the one person who would do anything for her. But I also really like the way she wasn’t completely helpless in dangerous situations.

All in all, I really thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although I’m sure I’m one of the last few who haven’t read this series, I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy story with fun paranormal elements. I’m looking forward to seeing how the characters grow and what other fun twists there may be. This was a great first book and I can’t wait to dive back into this exciting world.

“The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

Leave a Reply

